Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 46
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.107
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of a college paper for Virginia History on "The Presidents of William & Mary" and a travel brochure for which Miss Cornelia Storrs Adair was the leader.
Dates:
circa 1921-1923
Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents
The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.
Dates:
1833-2014; Majority of material found in 1950-2005
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents
[NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...
Dates:
1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1922
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.096
Scope and Contents
This scrapbook was created by Julian Arlington Brooks, while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1916-1920. Included in the scrapbook are photos of campus buildings and students, women who may have been part of the first class of women at William and Mary, Kappa Alpha Order fraternity members, both a baseball and football player, and the Student Army Training Corps (original print of fire drill). There are also newspaper clippings about William and Mary baseball, a dance card...
Dates:
circa 1916-1920, 1951
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.133
Scope and Contents
This collections consists of Erma M. Brown's composition book for psychology while a student at the College of William and Mary. It contains class notes and/or textbook outlines.
Dates:
circa 1925
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.025
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of two scrapbooks; a collection of costume designs for plays; two volumes of costume drawings done for a costume history class; and one volume (marked volume III) containing pictures of paintings done for an art history class. The scrapbooks include news clippings, photographs, programs and related material from various College of William and Mary events and organizations including Department of Theater productions and the Canterbury Association.
Dates:
1941-1945
Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.088
Scope and Contents
The leather scrapbook of College of William and Mary student Anne F. Chenery includes photographs of campus life and family, news clippings, programs, tickets, corsages and other memorabilia, and related material compiled by Chenery. There are many photographs of other women students and at least one page in her scrapbook about her weight and body issues. Images of the cover and one page from the scrapbook: ...
Dates:
circa 1926-1928
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.074
Scope and Contents
This collection includes photograph albums/scrapbooks, photographs, a roll book, pledge books, and meeting minutes. Portions of this collection may be restricted.
Dates:
1921 - 2012
Collection
Identifier: SC 00731
Scope and Contents
College scrapbook, 1931-1945, kept by Clarice Peterson Thompson at Virginia State College, Petersburg, Virginia. She entered information on festivities, outings, and plays attended in the pre-printed volume "Memories of My School Days." Several pages are taken up by names and addresses of classmates, as well as their entries and messages dedicated to her.In addition to congratulation cards glued into the volume, there are also a few loose items like news clippings, cards, and a...
Dates:
1931-1945
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.004
Scope and Contents
The papers of Catherine Dennis include pages from the scrapbook she kept at the College of William and Mary. Dennis was part of the first class of women to attend William and Mary beginning in 1918. Photographs feature Dennis and other students, including Martha Barksdale, around campus. The collection also includes an invitation to the Students' Army Training Corps Ball, a letter from William and Mary President Lyon G. Tyler to Catherine Dennis, and a copy of the September 1974 Alumni...
Dates:
1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Collection
Identifier: SC 00827
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1931-1936 of an unidentified young woman, titled "A Book of Personal Reflections of an Impersonal Brat." Geneve (her name is noted in the inside front cover, but her last name is not legible) was a student and 21 years old when she started the diary in 1931. She also notes that she graduated from Bradford Academy , MA '29, Lake Erie College, OH, '33 and Katharine Gibbs School, MA '34.Most entries are reflections on the meaning of life and love and her own emotional state...
Dates:
1931-1936
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.005
Scope and Contents
This collection contains diaries, photographs, and other material related to Margetta Doris (Hirsch) Doyle. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Margetta Doyle's days as a student at Mary from 1941-1945. The collection also includes a diary, photographs, and financial information concerning a trip to China, Japan, and Hong Kong in the fall of 1984 by Margetta Hirsch Doyle, her husband, and two friends. The diaries contain summary notes compiled by Margetta Doyle.
Dates:
1941-1984; Majority of material found in 1942-1984
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.006
Scope and Contents
This collection includes three postcards, forty-four photos, and four assorted pictures, mainly of Anne Townsend Dudley's William and Mary years (1922-1926). Most of the photos were used in the 1924 Colonial Echo.
Dates:
1923-1924
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.288
Scope and Contents
Photograph album of Elizabeth Edwards Wingate of her years as a student at William & Mary from 1983-1987. The end of the album continues after Wingate graduated. Subjects include immediate family, loft construction, freshman move-in day, dormitory life, social life, campus buildings and locations, the senior art show, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, and graduation. Post-graduation subjects are specific to family, including Wingate's sibling, James Edwards (Class of 1989) and her...
Dates:
1983-1989, circa 2000, 2014
Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 117
Identifier: SC 01723
Content Description
Two photo albums, created and annotated by Emily Bayne Barfield. The black cloth bound, string-tied, 11 x 7.25 album contains around 239 black and white photographs. It begins with Barfield's time at Camp Junaluska, a girls' summer camp in Waynesville, North Carolina, and ends with images from her studies at Georgia State College for Women, located in Milledgeville, Georgia. The second album bound in leatherette contains around 105 black and white photographs compiled by Barfield at Sullins...
Dates:
1917 - 1921
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.123
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance....
Dates:
1936-1945; Majority of material found in 1937-1939
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.011
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of a scrapbook, a secretary's book, and two copies of the H2E Club's constitution. The scrapbook contains lists of members, clippings about club activities, and photographs. The secretary's book contains roll calls and meeting minutes.
Dates:
1927-1932
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.134A
Scope and Contents
The Zelda Haus Papers cover her time at both Marion Junior College and Susquehanna University. Haus attended Marion Junior College, a woman's college, from 1923 to 1925. While there she took part in numerous religiously focused organizations such as the Lutheran League. These organizations focused on both domestic issues and international issues such as the Armenian Genocide. In 1925, Haus enrolled in Susquehanna University, located on the banks of the Susquehanna River in Selinsgrove,...
Dates:
1922-1927
Collection
Identifier: MS 00177
Scope and Contents
Photograph album, circa 1910s-1920s, of John W. Henderson of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes photographs of his time at Williamsburg High School and photographs of pre-restoration Williamsburg. There are also photographs from his time at the College of William & Mary, including photographs of the first class of women at the College, various sporting events, and various plays put on by the Dramatic Club. There are also photographs from Gloucester Point, Virginia, Yorktown, Jamestown, and...
Dates:
circa 1890-1929
Collection
Identifier: UA 207
Scope and Contents
This collection includes the annual report, course list, and invitations for the Department of Home Economics at the College of William and Mary.
Dates:
1921-1971
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.020
Scope and Contents
This scrapbook holds photographs of the College of William and Mary. Included are images of several buildings, such as (but not limited to) the old gymnasium (demolished in 1931), several dormitories for both women and men, the dining hall, and Lake Matoaka. There is also a photograph of the 1923 women's basketball team and individual shots of each player. The scrapbook also includes images of President Warren G. Harding's visit to campus in 1921. Additionally,...
Dates:
1921-1923
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.190
Scope and Contents
Student essay written by Johnson titled "The President's House."
Dates:
circa 1922
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.143
Scope and Contents
Contains a loose scrapbook of photographs detailing student life at the College of William and Mary that were collected by Muriel Johnstone, class of 1929, during her time at the College. Included are photographs of campus buildings, Johnstone's fellow classmates, and student activities, including athletics, May Pole dancing, and Johnstone's sorority, Kappa Delta. Also included with the scrapbook are loose photographs and publications about Johnstone and the Kappa Delta sorority pin.
Dates:
circa 1925-1929
Collection
Identifier: MS 00402
Scope and Contents
Letters written to Vinda Elizabeth Kibler, also called Kitty or Elizabeth, between 1917-1924, while she was at Bridgewater College in Rockingham County (1917-1922), the State Teacher's College in Harrisonburg (1923), and at her teaching post in Front Royal, Virginia (1923-1924). Most letters are from her mother and father on their small farm in Woodville, Rappahannock County, Virginia. Also included are a number of letters from other relatives, businesses, and a pen pal in France....
Dates:
1917-1924; Majority of material found within 1920-1924
